Red Dawn Rises in Island County Elections


Local Election Update (Island County, State Legislative District 10, Congressional District 2)

Island County has now received 53,829 ballots with only a handful remaining ballots left to count. Voter turnout has reached an astonishing 85.27%. With election week winding down, it is expected that the county is nearing a conclusion to the receipt of additional mail-in ballots, and therefore, final results to the local 2020 election.

The county is scheduled to officially certify the 2020 election on 11/24/2020.

Ballots received late in the week have continued to improve the status for Republicans in key races, while Democrats have maintained their leads in a few other contests.

Island County Commissioner District 1 (South Whidbey):
In the contest between Melanie Bacon (D) and Damian Greene (R) previous results showed Mr. Greene trailing Ms. Bacon by 781 votes. Ms. Bacon has now extended her lead marginally, leaving Mr. Greene with a deficit of 918 votes.

Bacon (D): 25, 834 votes (50.83%)
Greene (R): 24,916 votes (49.03%)

Island County Commissioner District 2 (North Whidbey)
ICFP reports that current Island County Commissioner (District 2), Jill Johnson, will maintain her seat for the upcoming term after defeating political new-comer, Dan Evans (R), in a race where Democrats failed to advance a candidate through the primary into the General Election.

Johnson (R): 27,551 votes (60.27%)
Evans (R): 17,401 votes (38.07%)

Island County Superior Court Judge (Position 1)
In the non-partisan race for Island County Superior Court Judge (Position 1), long time Whidbey Island resident and attorney, Carolyn Cliff, will defeat Kathleen Petrich by a significant margin. Ms. Cliff has served as a Judge Pro Tem for the Island County Superior Court for the past 20 years.

Carolyn Cliff (non-partisan): 25,935 votes (58.94%)
Kathleen Petrich (non-partisan): 17,798 votes (40.45%)

State Representative – Legislative District 10 (LD10) Position 1
Since initial reporting on election night, November 3rd, the race for State Representative (Position 1) between Camano Island resident and Lawyer, Greg Gilday (R), and former Island County Commissioner, Angie Homola (D), has continued to develop. Ms. Homola’s early lead has diminished over the week as ballots arrived and were tallied. The latest report, as of 5PM today (Nov. 7th) show Mr. Gilday as having overtaken Ms. Homola by a margin of 414 votes or 0.49%. Note that final counts within 0.5% will require an official recount by the county.

Greg Gilday (R) 43,049 votes (50.14%)
Angie Homola (D): 42,635 votes (49.65%)

State Representative – Legislative District 10 (LD10) Position 2
State Representative Dave Paul’s (D) lead over Republican challenger Bill Bruch has continued to narrow. Representative Paul’s lead which was as high as 2,395 votes (3.16%) on November 4th has fallen to 1,161 votes (1.34%) as of the latest reporting. With late votes demonstrating favor for Mr. Bruch, this race remains too close to call.

Dave Paul (D): 43,880 votes (50.62%)
Bill Bruch (R): 42,719 votes (49.28%)

State Senate – Legislative District 10 (LD10)
In a critical race for Republicans to maintain the Senate seat to which Senator Ron Muzzall was appointed, following the resignation of Barbara Bailey in late 2019, the current incumbent has continued to expand the lead that he acquired yesterday. While initial results placed Island County Commissioner (District 1) Helen Price-Johnson with a comfortable lead over Mr. Muzzall, late ballots have proven to be a challenge for Ms. Price-Johnson. Recent results show Mr. Muzzall extending his recent lead by 1210 votes (1.38%), a margin large enough to avoid a required recount.

Ron Muzzall (R): 44,349 (50.64%)
Helen Price Johnson (D): 43,319 (49.26%)

U.S. Congressional District 2 (CD2)
Rick Larsen (D), a career politician, will win his 10th term in the U.S. House of Representatives for U.S. Congressional District 2. Larsen’s district encompasses Island and San Juan Counties as well as portions of Snohomish, Skagit and Whatcom Counties.

Rick Larsen (D): 247,403 votes (63.43%)
Timothy Hazelo (R): 141,754 votes (36.34%)

The Island County Free Press will provide additional updates as they become available.


Leave a Reply to Joe Graham Cancel reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here